Life at 23

23 is a funny age.

After 17 years, it’s for many, the first year with no formal education. But for me, and as I’m sure for many others, it’s a year that involves much more learning than we could anticipate. I have probably learnt more since graduating than I did in my 4 years studying at university.

Lesson number 1: Life is hard

Lesson number 2: Re-read number 1. It is really, very hard.

That summarises it. Things are hard in ways you couldn’t even imagine. This is my first year working in a ‘grown up job’ and bloody hell, every day is difficult. I don’t know about you, but at university I had like a month of hard days every term. That’s 2 months per 12 months. But now it’s like every single day I have so much to do. It’s amazing in ways I never thought possible and terrifying in ways I never considered.

At 23, your life has basically just began, but the rest of your life is still pretty open, you haven’t really been put in any boxes. Friends start getting married and having children, but you’re still single and the mere thought of marriage terrifies you? You’re still working at your college supermarket job, while your friend is an economist for the government? Life is weird at 23. A learning curve like you have never experienced. But it’s just another step, another stage in this crazy rollercoaster we call life. We hope that things will calm down when we get older, that one day we will figure out where we are going and what we are doing. But truth is, probably not. But I’m going to keep believing this anyway, I need something to hold onto.

 

Leave a Reply

