It’s a new chapter, but is that a good thing?

I have just graduated from university. After four years at university, and a total of 17 years in education, I am finally free. It’s everything I ever wanted, but it turns out being a graduate isn’t as marvellous as I once thought. With graduation, comes a Facebook feed filled with cheesy posts about the sadness we feel for leaving education and the excitement of entering the real world. Many call this ‘a new chapter’, there is an implication that a new chapter is a positive and exciting thing, but is it? Since graduation, I have been bored, poor and felt utter terror at the thought of trying to get a career. I know many of my fellow graduates feel the same. We Facebook stalk the ‘successful ones’, the ones with the jobs lined up and the first class degrees and we feel inferior. Maybe this new chapter isn’t going to be the highlight of my book, but there are many chapters left to come and I am excited for them. I am excited for what’s to come in my life and yet I am scared. I am willing to admit I am terrified about this chapter, about finding work and about that transition into full time work. This new chapter isn’t working out so well for me yet but it’s necessary, this chapter is hard but I am confident it will lead to me to happiness in the future and for that I am thankful.

Leave a Reply

